Three things that maintain anxiety

I read this article today and it shook me a bit. Instead of listing things that “cure” or reduce anxiety, this lists the three behaviors that maintain people’s states of anxiety.

1. Avoidance

2. Reassurance Seeking

3. Distraction

It’s like pulling out a bright yellow highlighter to my life.

The cool thing, though, is that before reading said article, I was coming to these same conclusions: when I avoid, distract too much, or constantly seek re-/assurance from people, it all feeds into the anxiety cycles. I am committed to wellness and I am committed to still doing this hard work, even when my instinct is to internalize or deny.

It is what it is, and it is a work in progress.

I am okay.

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought

