Friday night ramblings

There are many things I want to learn more about, either as part of my own process or from purely an intellectual/academic perspective. However, many things that I consider from an intellectual/academic perspective actually are applicable to my own process. I try to not live inside my head all the time, but there are many things that I want to know more about in this ongoing search to make sense of myself:

  1. Anorexia & Autisim connections
  2. Anthropological views of medicine, illness, and health
  3. Personality subtypes of eating disorders: emotionally dysregulated, constricted, and high-functioning/perfectionistic
  4. Iatrogenic mental illness
  5. Object relations theory & Winnicott
  6. Introversion and sensitivities
  7. Psychobiology and sociocultural factors of anxiety

Books that I have found helpful so far in regards to these topics and want to discuss:

  1. Anatomy of an Epidemic by Robert Whitaker
  2. A History of Madness by Michel Foucault
  3. Gaining by Aimee Liu
  4. Bipolar Expeditions: Mania and Depression in American Culture by Emily Martin
  5. The Buddha and the Borderline by Kiera van Gelder
  6. Quiet by Susan Cain
  7. Sensing the Self by Sheila M. Reindl

I want so badly to be able to find a reason to explain the last ten+ years of my life, put the puzzle pieces together. Perhaps there are not answers, but I want to at least try:

There is only the fight to recover what has been lost

And found and lost again and again: and now, under conditions

That seem unpropitious. But perhaps neither gain nor loss.

For us, there is only the trying. The rest is not our business.

This comes from the T.S. Eliot poem “East Coker” – so much goodness in that piece….. Rambles… more cohesion at a later date.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought

