New Year

Today is Rosh Hashanah, my new year, the Jewish new year. I always feel like I need to explain that because I grew up in such an isolated, sparse community that I did have to explain it. That childhood, family, mother-full community is sacred. Now, living in a city that has a fairly high concentration of all sorts of Jews, I still feel lost, although I think I found a synagogue that I really like, having now spent two Rosh Hashanahs there.

I start with the New Year right now, because it is today. I feel full, full of spirit and emotion. I’ve realized that when my jaw is clenched and I have a lot of tension in my face, it’s my body saying I need to cry. So I let myself cry a bit at services this morning– just a bit– and I let myself mourn and grieve and celebrate and hope for a happy, healthy, sweet new year. We rise in prayer because praying only works when we ourselves lift ourselves up.

What do I pray for? I used to never understand the point of prayer. Today I did. I prayed for strength. I often pray for strength. I pray for strength to do the right thing, strength to not turn away from pain, strength to act with integrity. I pray for strength to be courageous, strength to be authentic, strength to follow my heart even in a world that seems to say my heart should want to go other places.

When I don’t care what others think, I rarely feel the deep-deep Anxiety. When I don’t care what others think, I am joyful. I am me without any outside influence. I often wonder who I am with no one else around; like a boggart in a wardrobe before it transforms into your worst fear, who am I when no one is looking? Or, who am I when I just let myself Be?

There are so many thoughts I have right now, so many thoughts I have been having all week. I’m thinking a lot about how I can mimic and imitate almost any type of social/work situation or environment and can play the parts really well. Eventually, it all feels fake. I’m thinking about how sometimes I am speaking and I just completely blank on words– and it’s not a loss for words as much as an I-have-no-idea-what-comes-next. If I haven’t seen it before, I sometimes don’t know how to act. That’s the thing- acting. I feel like I act a lot. Who am I if I choose to not act but rather be?

I want answers. I want reasons. I want a singular truth for why I am the way I am. I know there’s no one singular truth… but I guess what this all comes down to is that today, on this New Year, I know one thing that is true about me: being Jewish is important to me. I am a spiritual, religious, culturally Jewish woman and that piece is a for-certain, true, ME part of my identity. When I embrace it, I am joyful.

Which is hard to do in today’s secular world, secular-Christian world. It takes effort to be Jewish and it is worth the effort because it’s part of who I am. It’s a foundation.

This probably makes no sense. I just rambled. I’m exhausted and writing and writing is also another True Me thing, so I’m going to keep doing it.

I’m having so many thoughts….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought

