Rainy days are okay

I love the sunshine. I crave the fresh air and a blue sky and the greens and browns and autumnal yellows and reds. Growing up in a rural area, now living in a city, I realize how integral the outside world is for my health. The colors, air on my face, in my lungs…. For the past six months, I have actively been trying to spend as much time outside as possible. It has had incredibly healing effects.

Today it’s raining, though, with blustery wind. I got off the train this morning on my way to work and realized it was calming. Sometimes I feel incongruous with the weather- when it is bright and sunshiney and inside I feel gloomy, I struggle to accept my mood. Who can be upset on a day like today? I say in my head.

So on a day like today, when my mood is fairly level and energy average, I realized that rainy days are kind of nice. They force me to slow down, relax, and rest. They make me grateful for the indoors, my cozy apartment, blankets, and hot tea.

I don’t always love rainy days, but inevitably they happen. And I’ll take it- I’m okay with slowing down, relaxing, and letting it be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought

