Weighted blankets

I love going to the dentist.

Well, no, not really– but I love getting x-rays. Well, no, not really. I love when they put the protective heavy blanket on me and I hate when they take it off at the end. I sometimes wish I could have hours of dental x-rays just so I could stay under the heavy blanket.

I’ve been aware of this for almost 20 years. Weight is good. Pressure is good.

A few years ago I learned that weighted blankets exist. It took a long time to make the connection between the dentist’s office and a blanket. It took a long time to say out loud that I thought it may be helpful. It took a few more months, after saying it out loud a few times, to order one.

It arrived three nights ago.

I love it.

I love it so much.

I came home tonight, a bit worked up, anxious, emotional… after a hot shower I’ve snuggled right in.

I love it so, so, so much.

I feel myself just a bit calmer, just a bit steadier, just a bit safer.

It’s incredible.

I love my weighted blanket.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weighted blankets

  1. Jen says:

    This is awesome! I have forever benefitted from weight, always sleeping with rolled up blanket or pillow on my legs, and loving weighted bean bags in my lap. It’s so comforting and makes sense – it goes back to the womb and babies being swaddled. I think so many people, autistic or not, have a sensory system that greatly benefits from the calming input. So I say – whatever works!

Share a thought

