Invalidation cycle


  1. Notice the energy in the room, full of spinning anxieties and pain.
  2. Notice your sense of “there isn’t enough room for me,” and witness yourself shutting down.
  3. Notice how you disqualify your own emotional experience, invalidate yourself.
  4. Notice that you tell yourself you shouldn’t feel the way you feel, and that other people have it worse.
  5. Notice how you decide to put other people’s needs before your own, during a time in which you have valid needs.
  6. Notice how you do not get your own needs met because you put other people first.
  7. Notice how, on this evening,  your action is not selflessness, but rather self-neglect.
  8. Notice your anger and resentment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s